The 2017 Scholar-Athlete Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, March 17, 2018, in the Marian H. Rochelle Gateway Center on the campus of the University of Wyoming, Laramie.

2016 Scholar-Athlete Finalists

Front Row (left to right):  Lane Tucker (Campbell County), Garrett Vezain (Rocky Mountain), Brennan Kutterer (Tongue River), and Chase Roullier (UW).
Second Row (left to right):  Garrett Cooper (Lingle-Ft Laramie), McCabe Smith (Star Valley), Nolan McCafferty (Big Horn), Caleb Price (South), and Ty Larson (Douglas).
Third Row (left to right):  Coy Steel (Sheridan), Dalton Abarr (Meeteetse), T.J. Abraham (Powell), and Andrew Ratty (Big Horn).
Not shown:  Skyler Dillon-Bennett (Tongue River), Zach Hoopman (Douglas), and Eric Nzeocha (UW).

2016 Banquet Summary

The Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame held its 23rd annual Scholar-Athlete Awards Banquet on Saturday evening, March 18, 2017, in the Marian H. Rochelle Gateway Center on the campus of the University of Wyoming. The event was attended by over 300 guests and featured comments from University of Wyoming Head Football Coach Craig Bohl and former UW and NFL offensive tackle Adam Goldberg. Ten special awards recipients were honored along with 16 scholar-athletes from the University of Wyoming and each of the five high school classifications in the state. A total of $21,600 in scholarships was awarded with each finalist receiving a National Football Foundation Plaque and a $1,200 scholarship to the school of their choice. Nolan McCafferty of Big Horn High School was named the Top-Scholar-Athlete and received an additional $1,200 scholarship. During the past twenty-three years the Wyoming Chapter has awarded $329,550 in scholarships to student-athletes representing 58 of the 64 Wyoming high schools that play football and the University of Wyoming. The twelve high school scholar-athlete finalists had an average cumulative Grade Point Average of 3.85 and include one student body president, two senior class vice-presidents, one student council president, six school club officers, two school yearbook or newspaper editors, and one Eagle Scout. Six of the twelve scored a 27 or above on their ACT and three scored a 30 or above.

Special Award Recipients include:
Greatest University of Wyoming Football Fans: Jim Moore, Douglas; Tom Roberts, Worland
Greatest Wyoming High School Football Fans: Wes Grussendorf, Casper; Rusty Jones, Wright
Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football: John Cundall, Rock Springs; John Pine, Sheridan
Ox Zellner Football Official Career Achievement Award: Keith Gemar, Gillette
Football Coach Career Achievement Award: Gary Jahnke, Gillette; Gary Glenn, Douglas; Brick Cegelski, Cheyenne

This year’s scholar-athlete finalists include:
Courage Award – Skyler Dillon-Bennett, Tongue River
Perseverance Award – Zach Hoopman, Douglas
1A-6 Man – Dalton Abarr, Meeteetse; Garrett Cooper, Lingle-Ft. Laramie
1A Lineman – Garrett Vezain, Rocky Mountain
1A Back – Brennan Kutterer, Tongue River
2A Lineman – Andrew Ratty, Big Horn
2A Back – Nolan McCafferty, Big Horn
3A Lineman – McCabe Smith, Star Valley
3A Back – T.J. Abraham, Powell; Ty Larson, Douglas
4A Lineman – Lane Tucker, Campbell County
4A Back – Caleb Price, South; Coy Steel, Sheridan
UW Lineman – Chase Roullier UW Back – Eric Nzeocha

$600 Scholarship Recipients included: Logan Downs of Glenrock High School and Kane Leithead from Wright High School.