The 2017 Scholar-Athlete Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, March 17, 2018, in the Marian H. Rochelle Gateway Center on the campus of the University of Wyoming, Laramie.

History of the National Football Foundation

The Early Leaders: Grantland Rice, Colonel Earl “Red” Blaik, and General Douglas MacArthur.
“On the fields of friendly strife are sown the seeds that on other days, on other fields will bear the fruits of victory.” General Douglas MacArthur

The History of the National Football Foundation
The National Football Foundation was founded in 1947 by General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl “Red” Blaik, and the famous journalist Grantland Rice. The NFF is a non-profit educational organization which promotes amateur football at local and national levels and sponsors programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship, and athletic achievement in young men. With 121 chapters and more than 12,000 members nationwide, the NFF supports a variety of programs and provides scholarships of more than $1.3 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. The NFF also presents the William V. Campbell Trophy, which is commonly referred to as the “Academic Heisman,” and is awarded annually to a college football player for outstanding scholarship, community service, and football performance.

Archie Manning, a member of the College Football Hall of Fame from Ole Miss, serves as the current chairman of the board and Steven J. Hatchell, former commissioner of the Big 12 and Southwest Conferences and executive director of the FedEx Orange Bowl, serves as the current President and CEO. Each year the organization’s leaders gather in the fall at the Annual Awards Dinner in New York City at the Waldorf-Astoria to honor National Scholar-Athletes and those who have made outstanding contributions to amateur football. Now in its seventh decade, the Annual Awards Dinner remains the centerpiece of the organization’s efforts to highlight the values of the game and provide a historic venue which will inspire scholar-athletes for generations to come. For more information, go to