The 2017 Scholar-Athlete Awards Banquet will be held on Saturday, March 17, 2018, in the Marian H. Rochelle Gateway Center on the campus of the University of Wyoming, Laramie.

History of the Wyoming Chapter

Keith Bloom

The Wyoming Chapter
The Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation was founded in 1993 by former University of Wyoming Head Football Coach and Athletics Director Paul Roach and is a non-profit educational organization. Thanks in part to the leadership of former chapter presidents Keith Bloom, Mike Schutte and Jeff Felton, the Wyoming Chapter is currently the third largest of 121 chapters nationwide. Its purpose is to promote amateur football by recognizing student-athletes for their academic and athletic achievements, leadership, and community involvement.



Mike Schutte

Two senior scholar-athletes from the University of Wyoming and each of the five Wyoming High School classifications are honored each year at our annual banquet which is held in March. Each finalist receives a National Football Foundation Plaque and a $1,200 scholarship to the school of their choice; and the Top Scholar-Athlete receives an additional $1,200 scholarship. During the past twenty-three years the Wyoming Chapter has received nominations from 1,648 high school and 56 UW scholar-athletes for its scholarship awards program and has awarded a total of $329,550 in scholarships. The chapter also presents Courage and Perseverance Awards to deserving athletes, recognizes individuals for Outstanding Contributions to Amateur Football, and presents career achievement awards to both football officials and high school head and assistant coaches. The criteria and timelines for scholar-athlete and special awards can be found here.

Jeff Felton

National Scholar-Athlete Awards
The top high school scholar-athlete from the Wyoming Chapter competes against the best scholar-athletes from 25 other chapters for the coveted Western Regional Award as the Top Scholar-Athlete.During its short history the chapter has had three Western Regional winners and three regional runners-up. Justin Hopkin from Burlington won the award in 1996, followed by Buffalo’s Chris Prosinski in 2006, and Gavin Mills from Powell in 2009. Regional winners and collegiate finalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, or “Academic Heisman,” are honored each fall at the National Football Foundation’s Annual Awards Dinner held in New York City at the Waldorf-Astoria. Former Cowboys Trenton Franz (2004) and John Wendling (2006), and Northern Colorado’s Corte McGuffey from Riverton, were finalists for the award (formerly known as the Draddy Trophy); and each received an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship. Wendling became the chapter’s first high school scholarship recipient to also receive a post-graduate scholarship from the chapter. Jake Edmunds (2009) and Chris Prosinski (2010) have also been honored by the chapter as both high school and college scholar-athlete finalists.